Weekend Re-Cap

23 Aug

Where has August gone? It’s seriously the 23rd already?! Seeing as how summer is coming to an abrupt end, I’ve been trying to pack as much into my weekends as possible. Luckily I kept my summer to-do list pretty short and realistic, so I feel good about what I’ve been able to accomplish in these three short months. Aside from spending as much time on the beach as possible, my main goal this summer was to get on a boat. Unfortunately I don’t know anyone who has one, but my friend Matt has a canoe (that kind of counts right?)

Supposedly this is a one person canoe – but we proved that theory wrong.

Our canoeing skills were pretty solid, considering we somehow didn’t tip this thing over. We did wind up making a lot of accidental circles…Let me put it this way – If canoescapades was an Olympic event, I’m confident that we would have at least walked away with a bronze metal.

Here was the nail situ for the weekend:

Maybe I’ll properly clean my fingers before I photograph my nails one of these days. I really wanted to try a fade technique, but you really need a cosmetic sponge to do this right. The closest thing I could find in my house were these weirdo rod curlers my mom bought me for Christmas like, circa 2002 that I never had the heart to throw away. They are kiiindaa foamy, so I took some scissors to them and did my best with the resources I had. That nail polish looks awesome, right? IT SUCKS. (Justing Beiber “One less lonely girl” collection for Nicole by OPI. The color itself is called “step to the beat of my heart). It will take you an hour to get ONE heart out of that bottle.

(Lotus the dog dying for me to throw her ball)

One of my favorite places in New Jersey is the Dover Antique Center. Not only is it across the street from one of the best Salvation Army stores in the world, AND close to countless authentic Mexican restaurants, but it is filled with some of the coolest and most random things. I can always find something I can’t leave behind. Here’s one of the things I walked out with:

My new favorite print. (Can’t remember who it’s by..all I can remeber is the date -1977)

Here’s the current nail situ:

More detailed shot:

 

One more thing I wanted to share with you – I love these guided hairstyle guides from Refinery 29. I tried this one out this weekend and LOVED it..

I feel like I’ve been wearing a top knot all summer long so it felt refreshing to jazz it up a little bit. I’m still having issues mastering the fishtail braid (another item on my summer to-do list), but I haven’t given up, and summers not over just yet.

xoxo

Jenny C

One Response to “Weekend Re-Cap”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Loborious Labor Day « somewhereoverthebrainbow - September 7, 2011

    […] Remember my summer list? I finally learned how to fishtail braid. Bring on […]

Leave a Reply

